Football

Statement Regarding Yesterday's Harvard-Princeton Football Game

In the third overtime, Harvard threw a pass for a successful two-point conversion. After the play, the replay booth stopped the game for an official review. While the review did determine that the Princeton head coach called for timeout before the ball was snapped, the officiating crew made a procedural error as a timeout can only be recognized and granted prior to the snap by an on-field official and is not reviewable. Therefore, the timeout should not have been granted and the play should have resulted in a successful two-point conversion. 
 
According to NCAA Rule 5-2-9, the outcome of the game will stand as a win for Princeton. The league office will address the error with the officials.